Changing for the Better

And I agree with that completely.

Isn’t this what this entire thing is about? Making a change for a positive difference. To improve myself so that I may become healthier. But I can’t do that just doing what I have always done. I have to CHANGE things and make that difference. One of the ways I have changed in my routine is going to the gym.

The next: Water and food consumption.

Look at what I brought with me to work today!

20150223_134649

What is it? WATER. You probably have no idea why that is such a big deal for me: I usually bring a soda or energy drink (I know, I know, those are terrible for me). But this is a step forward! I have a cup of tea in the morning, and throughout the day I would drink either my soda or energy drink AS WELL AS the drink I bring for lunch (Which is normally a soda!). My sodas are diet, but that doesn’t make it any less worse. Some people love to tell me that sometimes it is worse to get a diet soda. There is a whole story (husband is borderline diabetic) as to why we drink diet instead of regular, but it tends to be a bit longer.

Yes, I have very unhealthy habits, so I am taking steps to fix it. This is definitely a step forward. Whoo!

Other things I am doing to improve:

Eating smaller portions!

Seriously, I used to eat the same amount as my husband (sometimes more!) and that is a huge problem! I should NOT be eating 3 or more slices of pizza. I do not need to be eating a double whopper with a large order of fries! I do not need to have a huge serving of mashed potatoes that takes up over half of my plate…

You get the idea.

I was eating way more than I should. Everyone talks about how you cannot eat this or cannot eat that – no. The best way to handle it: Eat what you want but make SURE to portion it! Makes sure to not overdo it! If you are going to eat a burger, maybe try a smaller burger, not the biggest 1/2lb there is. Want some popcorn? Don’t eat a huge oversized jumbo bag. Eat a mini one person bag. Everything can be okay if you do the right amount. Don’t deny yourself too much because then you crave it.

If you portion it, sometimes you can ween yourself off of it and go towards healthier choices. I was drinking less and less soda, so bringing water to work wasn’t too bad. Stopping the energy drinks always brings on headaches though. I need to find a better replacement for that one.

Sounds like I am preaching, I know, but things like this take One. Step. At. A. Time. I will not get instant results. I will not be able to do everything at once. I constantly have to remind myself that this is a process and I will not loose 20 lbs in one week.

Notice I said “I”. Because I am telling myself this. This is a daily thing to remind myself that this will all be worth it, even if I don’t see the changes immediately.

One step at a time. This is another step.

Leave a Reply

