Drinks, Drinks, Drinks

No workout today, so I thought I would try to keep up something else in regards to information. I decided to look into the different types of drinks I drink and let y’all know what I found.

First off: Cheap Drinks are cheap for a reason. And usually, they aren’t what you expect. Even worse, usually they are the ‘junk’ drinks – Sodas, not “juice”, super super sugar drinks, etc.

I bought this drink because it was a $1 a few days ago:

20150226_073829
It tasted fine, but a few minutes after my stomach was acting up. And I only had part of the drink. Not even half of it. And I got curious as to why it was upsetting my stomach. Keep in mind, the last few days, I have been drinking mostly tea and water. So I thought that something like this wouldn’t be too harmful. It looks like it should have a decent amount of juice. (Don’t get me wrong, I knew that it definitely wasn’t all juice. No way. Not for $1.)

So today, I took a look at the ingredients.

20150226_073839

In case you can’t read it here is what it says:

Filtered Water, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Citric Acid, Pear Juice Concentrate, Natural and Artificial flavors, Carrot Juice Concentrate, Acacia Gum, Yellow 5, Yellow 6, Red 40.

Oh, that’s not so bad… wait. What’s that? Only 1% juice???? And Pear Juice is listed as the 4th biggest ingredient.  It’s basically just a dash as flavoring. It is MOSTLY Water, High Fructose Corn Syrup and Citric Acid! That Corn Syrup probably is the 57g of sugar in this ONE bottle.

Whoa. No wonder why my stomach is upset.

This is what I have been drinking (besides filtered water from a Brita filter):

20150226_073858

I drink it every morning, as soon as I get into work. I got curious. Is this really as good as I think it is? Have I been tricked?

20150226_074031

Wait… oh isn’t that beautiful! It is actual ingredients! The one of the right is Peppermint tea. What’s the ingredient? Peppermint! The one on the left is a berry tea so it has a bit more. I’ll list them: (still amazingly awesome):

Hibiscus, Rosehips, Roasted Chicory, Orange Peel, Blackberry Leaves, Natural Flavors of Black Raspberries, Strawberries, Blueberries, Red Raspberries, Cranberries and Cherries with other Natural Flavors (contains Soy Lecithin) and Citric Acid.

Now, it is a bunch of tea leaves and berries. With a couple other things. Still not as bad as that $1 drink. Not as simple as Peppermint, but I’ll take that over stuff that upsets my stomach.

I wish I could look at my favorite one (Zinger Lemon!) but I’ll save that for another day.

Want something scary? Let’s look at a soda:

20150226_074230

20150226_074250And I have seen many sodas with longer lists. No wonder it is one of the cheaper drinks. I don’t want to write it out… sorry folks. Some of those words… I have NO idea what they mean. Wahhhh…. I have been putting this into my body! BECAUSE IT WAS EASY and not super expensive!

Yeah, made me slightly queasy. What’s worse is that there aren’t the worse drinks out there.

Maybe I’ll stick to Water and Juice…..

But wait… Not all waters and juices are equal! But we’ll save that entry for another time. Because that will get a bit more interesting. Plus, I don’t want to over analyze what I have to drink with me right now. But I am dumping that Mystic drink… It upset my stomach. :S

Leave a Reply

