07/21/15 – Gym and Smoothies

I have to say, today, I feel very accomplished today. I made it to the gym!
Yes, after all of this time. After all of my efforts and not being able to, I finally made it to the gym. I planned and arranged and made sure everything was set up the night before. And I WENT. (And I even took the stairs today at work instead of the elevator I was feeling so good.)

And it was Fabulous! I did a few more machines I normally don’t do… but man, I feel it. In a good way.

This is where I started today! (Sorry, I took a picture but it was VERY blurry, so I found this one instead.) Usually I do an Elliptical, but I was curious about trying out the Bike. Let me tell you: I can feel it. I felt it in my thighs. Usually after the Elliptical, I can still do Leg curls and extension. Not today. I did curls, but it was hard. I only did like 30 or 40. And it was HARD. So I went to my normal ab crunch machine, and then the pull down.

20150225_064548 20150225_062733

Then, I went to the Leg Extension again, hoping I was feeling a little better. Nope. Well, kind of. I did only 30 at that point. So, from there, I knew I wasn’t going to do much leg work today. Didn’t even do leg press. I did some arm stuff instead! Now, normally for the following machine:

20150227_064024I sit backwards and start with my arms in front of me. Not only did I do that this time, but I faced forward as well and started with my arms beside me. Now I KNOW why everyone does it that way! I could really feel it and it was fantastic.

Next, I did the arm curl machine. Sorry, but I don’t seem to have the picture of it this time. O.O I will definitely take picture of it next time.

Then… I did this one:

20150227_062601

I think I really like it now. I will try to use it much more often. It was fun.

Now, I had to buy a bottle of water today. Usually it is supposed to be like $2.04 for White Card Members (plus tax I am guessing) but their computer was goofing up. I only paid $1.64. (That is MORE than I normally would, but I knew I would need it. Boy did I need it!) But I made my breakfast for after work out as well as my lunch! Smoothies! I am loving smoothies.

I have to say, I enjoyed the one I made using the Slim Fast powder more than the fruits one I made. O.o It was a little thick, but it was delicious! Here is how I made it:

  • 1.25 cup of Soy Milk
  • 1/4 cup of Greek Yogurt
  • 1.25 cup of Slim Fast Shake Powder (the one I have talked about before)

Mix it all in a blender on Whip. DELICIOUS. And very filling. I drank it after my workout, and I am glad I waited. It would have been hard to workout feeling that full. I tried the other one I made last night. It is okay, but it isn’t the greatest. I used a recipe, but substituted blueberries for blackberries.

  • 1 Cup of Soy Milk
  • 1 cup of Water
  • 1 cup of Blackberries
  • 1 Pear
  • 1 Banana
  • Handful of Ice

And all of the fruits were frozen except for the Banana. Anyway, mixed it all together and viola, another smoothie. Again, it is okay. I like it. My husband did not. He said it had too many seeds and he just wasn’t a fan. If I had made it with blueberries, it may have been better. But we had a shake that was similar to it the night before, so I though he wouldn’t like another one with Blueberries. Maybe I should have stuck with it.

Anyway, I have that for lunch today. I might buy some plain yogurt to mix it with. I like it. But I really want to use some of the veggies that I bought. A lot of the really good sounding ones include Avocado. Would you believe that is the ONE thing I forgot to get?

I might stick with juicing for him and doing a mix of juicing and smoothies for me.

And I might just start making my own. I want to make a peach and plum smoothie tonight, with maybe a hint of spinach.

Any recommendations? Any advice? Have an opinion about the machines I used? Let me know. I could use all the help I could get.

Leave a Reply

