Replacing “Sit-Ups”

I. Hate. Sit-Ups. I just do. I know they aren’t that bad, and good for you and one of the mainstay exercises for working on the tummy/abs – but honestly, they hurt my low back and I am just – ugh. I can put a towel/something softer under my low back, but during my 30-day Challenge, they are the thing I dread most. Honestly.

fc800x800white-u1
According to this, Turtles are my spirit animals. Right with ya there buddy.

So, I started doing research and tried to find other exercises to do to replace Sit-Ups.

Note: No, I will not replace the sit-ups in my current challenge. I will live with it. But once it is done, I will do a different one or CREATE MY OWN that suits more of what I am aiming for. I like the squats and the effect it has – wait, this is off topic!

Anyways: Turns out I am not the only one that hates them! I am not alone! So there are a lot of different ones suggested. Here are some of the ones I am considering or thinking about.

First off… I NERDED OUT! I was going to talk about some others, but this one GUYS has me STOKED. Have I mentioned how much I actually like the exercise “Bird-Dog”? It is a recommended one on Daily Burn – Beginner Core Exercises for Ab Workout (<-link). Yes. Did I mention YES??

Ignore the fact it lists SIT-UPS and pay attention to the rest! The whole list is good! But I will focus on the two I will definitely do, and the one I will aim to do.

bird-dog-exercise_low-quality
Source: Daily Burn. Link mentioned above.

Bird-Dog Crunches.
I can do this. I already love this exercise because for some reason I find some sort of fun in it. It requires some balance but I can live with that. And it doesn’t hurt my lower back.

standing-bicycle-crunches
Source: Daily Burn. Link mentioned above

Standing Bicycle Crunches
I feel like I should be able to handle this as well. It is something I can do without too much room needed, and the motions is simple enough – but effective.

Goal:

spider-plank-crunch
Source: Daily Burn. Link mentioned above

This is a goal because… this requires some more upper body strength.
They called it the “Spider Plank Crunch.”
And I feel like it is something I would love to incorporate.

DEFINITELY visit that page for some more exercises that could be grand! (In fact, I may want to check out the rest of the site if it is this awesome.)

Oh, these are not the only ones I found. Would you believe I found some on Cosmopolitan that I was like “Um… yes please!”? Try these, because seriously, screw sit-ups. <- That is the link in case you weren’t sure. *wink*

Here was my favorite from that page:

gallery_1417464496-1404766915-standing-lunge-to-twist-gif
Source: Cosmopolitan Link mentioned above

Standing Lunge to Twist
Another one of those “I can actually do that!” and know that I will definitely feel it later. But it is a good starting motion that I want to incorporate. (Remember – I am a beginner level here!)

The only other site I think I would want to mention is Shape.com. That link shows 3 exercises, but honestly, I am unsure if I can do those yet. I prefer the other two sites for now.

Do you have a favorite exercise/an exercise you would recommend for the tummy/abs? Have you tried these before? Let me know! – I can use all the help I can get!

77d37-90e7a4972d79b737ec6267a482bab38176318db0

 

 

Leave a Reply

