Finally Getting Smoothies Right

Hello to all! Thank you to all the people who have been reading and enjoying what in the world is going on here. I know I haven’t updated in a while, but I have had a lot of things going on. There is a reason why this is called “STRUGGLING” through to fitness. Because it certainly is a struggle.

Daily life will do that to you.

Anyway, I know I have talked in the past about wanting to do smoothies/juicing and today I have finally started. Let’s start by talking about my unhealthy habit:
50629465

That’s right, I forget to eat. Mostly on the days I work. I don’t bring lunch, think I will grab something or I forget to bring the lunch and so I am like “Eh, I will be okay.”

No – GUYS – This is NOT OKAY. It isn’t okay to do and it isn’t good for me either. (I know this in my mind sometimes I am just bad at the practice of it.) Even if just snacking through the day (proper healthy snacks. Not chips and stuff, but like apples, or nuts, or other good snacks – that should be an entry for another day!) is better than not eating at all.

no-no-no-very-bad-man-babu-bhatt-seinfeld-gifs-finger-wag

So what I am going to do is start waking up just 30 minutes earlier and start making smoothies – I can fill my cup for lunch and the left overs will be breakfast! It is better than nothing and can be very good depending what you put in it. In fact, let’s show you smoothie I made today!

I used my lovely Ninja Blender (that we got recently just so I can start this! Whoo!)
Blender.jpg

This thing is amazing. I used to be iffy about getting a blender for certain things because generally I like smooth drinks – which is why I juiced. I have discovered if I want juice while using a fruit, this can do it! Now, it isn’t perfect, but it gets what I want done! (I can show this in another entry as well.)

I was worried about how loud this would be – let’s just say that this morning, when I used it in the kitchen, my daughter (who was in the living room) did NOT wake up. And my husband may have stirred, but it didn’t wake him up enough for him to even remember.

Yeah, that is awesome. No more worries on that front.

Let’s talk ingredients!

I used:
Banana.jpgOne frozen banana (I prechopped and froze the bits in a container in my freezer. Forgot to take a picture of it beforehand).
kale.jpgFROZEN chopped Kale

Mixed fruit.jpg

FROZEN mixed fruit.

Spinach.jpg

FROZEN Spinach

Protein powder.jpg

One scoop of Whey Protein Powder

Soy Milk.jpg

and lastly, but not least, Soy Milk.

Now, I wish I could tell you how much of each I did, but I can’t. I did a few of the frozen strawberries, about 3 or 4 of the frozen peach slices, some pineapple and mango, then grabbed small amounts of kale and spinach. Frozen banana slices, one scoop of powder, and poured in some soy milk until I was satisfied….

It all depends on your taste.

How did it turn out?

I was able to fill my cup for lunch, and some extra in a mug for breakfast! Not huge amounts but filling enough, especially when pared with drinking water all day. Which is a lot better than what I was doing and gives me some needed nutrients and stuff that I wouldn’t have gotten normally.

tenor

The taste isn’t too bad. I can live with it. I honestly mostly tasted banana. The rest of it wasn’t bad. Did not taste like Kale. Which is good. Wish I had put more mango or pineapple but for a start, it wasn’t bad.

and this time, I did not blend it for too long. Normally I keep it on high for too long that makes it thick and more similar to milkshake and ice cream rather than a smoothie.

Fixed, but interesting to figure out.

Now, why did I do all frozen? Because not only is frozen decently cheap/affordable, but it lasts a LONG time. The problem with my family and fresh foods sometimes is making sure to use it before it goes bad. Truth. Just… yeah. Sorry. And they seem to work just as well (if not  better because I don’t need to put in ice!) and has a similar amount of nutrients.

frozen-strawberry-ice-628x363-ts-159021827

(You know what, another entry idea, looking into the benefits/ pros and cons of frozen fruits and veggies.)

Any recipes that you would like to recommend? Combinations you prefer? Powder you like to use? Let me know and we’ll see if I can give it a shot!

Leave a Reply

